Tata Power
     Home  |  Contact  |  Sitemap

Conventional Energy
Power Services
New Projects
Other Businesses
Strategic Engineering Division (SED)
National Footprint
International Presence
Combat Climate Change
Tata Power Club Enerji
Tata Power Energy Centre
Energy Conservation Booklet


Tata Power - Redefining the Power Sector of India
Home > Businesses > Transmission


Mumbai License Area

Transmission operations of Tata Power in Mumbai License is spread over the entire city of Mumbai, its suburbs and extended up to the hydro generating stations in Raigad district of Maharashtra. This utility with more than 1,125 CKT KM of transmission network in Mumbai License Area (comprising of 995 CKT KM of 220 kV/110 kV overhead lines and 130 CKT KM of 220 kV/110 kV underground cables) meet the ever growing power needs of Mumbai and in helping the city achieve and retain its premium status of the commercial capital of India. The entire transmission system is centrally controlled from PSCC through the state of the art unified SCADA system.

Tata Power Transmission which has grid availability above 99.5 % is one of the most reliable systems in the country and carries 60 to 70 per cent of the bulk power consumed by Mumbai city. It is the key interlink between the generation and distribution of power and links the city transmission system with Maharashtra state grid. In addition, it links the thermal generation stations of Trombay, hydro generating stations in Raigad district with the network and Mumbai Distribution utilities like Tata Power Distribution, BEST, MSEDCL and Reliance Infra Tata Power Transmission in Mumbai is continuously upgrading and augmenting the Transmission system to cater to the increasing demand of Mumbai customers and has invested around 1500 Crores in last 3-4 years. There are ambitious plans of investing around 4000 Crores in the next 5 years and also upgrade the system to 400 kV and connecting it to CTU.


List of Receiving Stations

Transmission Receiving Stations Year of Commissioning
Parel Receiving Station 1915
Dharavi Receiving Station 1922
Kalyan Receiving Station 1929
Transmission Lines Division 1940
Salsette Receiving Station 1951
Carnac Receiving Station 1957
Chembur Receiving Station 1963
Borivali Receiving Station 1967
Ambernath Receiving Station 1965
Kolshet Receiving Station 1971
Mahalaxmi Receiving Station 1971
Saki Receiving Station 1974
Vikhroli Receiving Station 1980
Malad Receiving Station 1990
Versova Receiving Station 1992
Mankhurd Receiving Station 1998
Backbay Receiving Station 2000
Powai Receiving Station 2012
Sahar Receiving Station  2013
IXORA Receiving Station 2014


Key Milestones


Mumbai License area Map


4 CKT Towers


Transmission Towers in Thane Creek


Dharavi R/S - Switchyard


245 kV GIS R/S



  • Tata Power Transmission won the prestigious Energize Awards for  “Excellence in Power Transmission” for the year FY 13 (organized by Talwar Solutions Pvt. Ltd. (TSPL), in association with CNBC TV18 with Smart Grid partner ABB and process Validation partner E& Y).
  • Tata Power received "Best Fast Track Completed Power Transmission Projects award (Timely Completion of 2Nos. Transmission Projects)" at the 5th India Power Awards 2012, organised by The Council of Power Utilities at India Habitat Centre, New Delhi.
  • Tata Power Transmission team bags the Excellence and Distinction Awards at the International Convention for Quality Control Circles 2013, Taipei.
  • Tata Power has been awarded the “Performance Award for excellent services” offered to RCF, one of our largest customers for the year 2012.




Powered by: Allindia Technologies Limited Disclaimer | Privacy Policy          Website optimised for Internet Explorer 6.0 with 1024 x 768 screen resolution | © Tata Power