Mr. Mirza is a Chartered Accountant who spent 36 years with S. R. Batliboi & Co. Most of that experience was in the audit and assurance domains. He joined the board of Tata Power in 2006. He is currently also on the boards of Exide Industries Ltd., Thermax Ltd. and Centre for Advancement of Philanthropy, in addition to those within the Tata Power Group of companies. He is deeply involved in the movement for improved governance in corporations and speaks frequently on the topic.

He is also an Independent Director on the boards of Tata Power Delhi Distribution Ltd., Coastal Gujarat Power Ltd., Tata Power Renewable Energy Ltd. and Welspun Renewable Energy Pvt. Ltd., all subsidiaries of Tata Power. In Tata Power, he chairs the Nomination and Remuneration Committee and is a member of the Audit Committee of Directors, Risk Management Committee and Executive Committee of the Board.