Key Facts

General Background

Tata Power pioneered the generation of electricity in India nine decades ago. Today, it is the largest private power utility in India. The core business of Tata Power Company is to generate, transmit and distribute electricity. The Company operates in two business segments: Power and Other. The Power segment is engaged in generation, transmission and distribution of electricity. The other segment includes electronic equipment, project consultancy.

Company Description

Recognised as India's largest integrated Electric Power Utility in private sector with a reputation for reliability, built up over nearly eight decades. Tata Power has an installed generation capacity of 10757 MW. The Thermal Power stations of the company are located at Trombay in Mumbai, Jojobera and Maithon in Jharkhand, Belgaum in Karnataka and Mundra in Gujarat. The Hydro stations are located in Raigad district in Maharashtra and the Wind Farm in Ahmednagar. A correct combination of hydel and thermal enables the company to supply power at a lower tariff to customers. It incurs low T&D losses due efficient management of the network.


By Orders dated 18th October 2000, the High Court of Judicature at Bombay sanctioned the arrangement embodied in the scheme of Amalgamation of The Andhra Valley Power Supply Co. Ltd. and The Tata Hydro-Electric Power Supply Co. Ltd. with The Tata Power Co. Ltd., effective 1st of April 2000.

Merger Benefits

With the emerging scenario of economic liberalisation and globalisation, the Companies began to face several operational handicaps. Tata Electric becoming a single entity was an appropriate step towards overcoming such and other limitations.

The single large merged company has stronger balance sheet and greater leverage to participate in large projects. This will also bring about greater liquidity of the Company's stocks.

Board of Directors

  • Mr. N. Chandrasekaran (Non-Executive Chairman)
  • Ms. Vibha U. Padalkar (Independent Director)
  • Mr. S. Padmanabhan (Non-Executive Director)
  • Mr. Sanjay V. Bhandarkar (Independent Director)
  • Mr. Nawshir H. Mirza (Independent Director)
  • Mr. Kesava Menon Chandrasekhar (Independent Director)
  • Mr. Deepak M. Satwalekar (Independent Director)
  • Mr. Anil Sardana (CEO & Managing Director)
  • Ms. Sandhya S. Kudtarkar (Non-Executive Director)
  • Mr. Ashok S. Sethi (COO & Executive Director)
  • Ms. Anjali Bansal (Independent Director)

Company Secretary

  • Mr. H M Mistry

Stock Exchange and Ticker Symbol

BSE Limited, India; Symbol: TATA POWER; Scrip code: 500400
National Stock Exchange of India Limited (NSE), India; Symbol: TATAPOWER EQ

Major Customers

  • Mumbai Port
  • Builders & Contractors (Opinion leaders)
  • Refineries
  • Bombay Electricity & Transport undertaking
  • Textile Mills
  • Reliance Energy Limited
  • Fertiliser Factories
  • Maharashtra State Electricity Board
  • Bhabha Atomic Resererch Center
  • Thousands of households in Mumbai
  • Bandra Kurla Complex
  • Industrial Units
  • Residential Complexes
  • Municipal Corp. Water Pumping Plants

Service Territory

Greater Mumbai & Suburbs, Raigad District in Maharashtra, Belgaum in Karnataka & Jojobera in Jamshedpur
Employees: 2986

Office Locations

Registered Office Bombay House, 24, Homi Mody Street
Mumbai - 400 001, INDIA
Tel: (91 22) 6665 8282
Fax: (91 22) 6665 8801
For Power Projects & Related Services The Tata Power Company Limited
Strategy and Business Development Department
Corporate Center Block A 34,
Sant Tukaram Road, Caranac Bunder
Mumbai - 400 009
Tel : (91 22) 6665 8622
Fax : (91 22) 6665 8626
For Power Supply to Consumers in Mumbai Consumer Development Group
Technopolis Knowledge Park
Nelco Compound
Mahakali Caves Road
Andheri, Mumbai 400 093
Tel: (91 22) 5668 8351 / 5668 8355 / 5668 8354/5668 8353 /5605 0525
Fax: (91 22) 5668 8363
Phone No. : (91 22) 2577 4830

You can also contact us at our Call Centre Toll Free No: 1800 209 5161