Tata Power
     Home  |  Contact  |  Sitemap

Board of Directors
Committees of the Board
Terms and conditions of Appointment of Independent Directors
Familiarisation programme for Independent Directors
Corporate Governance
Quarterly Compliance Report on Corporate Governance
Vision, Mission and Values
Subsidiaries, Joint Ventures and Associates
Corporate Policies
Achievements & Awards
Tata Code of Conduct
Our Presence
Indian Network
Combat Climate Change
Tata Power Club Enerji
Tata Power Energy Centre
Energy Conservation Booklet


Tata Power - Redefining the Power Sector of India
Home > About Us > Board of Directors

Tata Power – Board of Directors


Mr. Cyrus P. Mistry

Mr. Cyrus P. Mistry graduated with a degree in Civil Engineering from Imperial College, UK in 1990. In 1997, he received an M.Sc. in Management from the London Business School. He is also a fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers, London.

Mr. Mistry was earlier Managing Director of the Shapoorji Pallonji Group. Under his leadership, Shapoorji Pallonji’s construction business grew into a billion dollar enterprise, evolving from pure-play construction to execution of complex projects in the marine, oil and gas and rail sectors, across a number of international geographies. He joined the Board of Tata Sons Limited in 2006 and was appointed Chairman of its Board in December 2012.

In addition to being Chairman of Tata Sons, Mr. Mistry is also the Chairman of major Tata group companies including Tata Steel Limited, Tata Motors Limited, Tata Consultancy Services Limited, The Indian Hotels Company Limited, Tata Global Beverages Limited, Tata Chemicals Limited, Tata Industries limited and Tata Teleservices Ltd.


Dr. Homiar S. Vachha

Dr. Vachha has a post-graduate degree and a doctorate in Economics from the University of Bombay (Gold medalist in Industrial Economics). He was the General Manager of ICICI Limited in a career spanning over 25 years. He was appointed as Nominee Director on the Board of the erstwhile The Andhra Valley Power Supply Company Limited in 1993. On ceasing to be such nominee director, he was re-appointed on the Board of that Company and continued as Director till its amalgamation with the Company in 2000. He has been subsequently appointed on the Board of the Company in 2001. He is also on the board of other companies.


Mr. Nawshir H. Mirza

Mr. Mirza is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India and was a Partner of S. R. Batliboi & Co., Calcutta. He is an Advisor to Jardine Matheson Limited, Hong Kong. He is also a Director on the Boards of Thermax Limited, Foodworld Supermarkets Limited, Coastal Gujarat Power Limited, Tata Power Delhi Distribution Limited and Health & Glow Retailing Private Limited.


Mr. Deepak M. Satwalekar

Mr. Satwalekar was the Managing Director and CEO of HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited from November 2000 till November 2008 and prior to this, he was the Managing Director of HDFC Limited from 1993 - 2000. Mr. Satwalekar obtained a Bachelor’s Degree in Technology from the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay and a Masters Degree in Business Administration from The American University, Washington DC. He is also on the board of other companies.


Mr. Piyush G. Mankad

Mr. Mankad is a retired civil servant with a distinguished career of over 40 years in the Civil Services. He graduated with a Masters’ degree from St. Stephen’s College, Delhi University, and a Post Graduate Diploma in Development Studies from Cambridge University, United Kingdom. He has held a number of official positions including Counsellor (Economic) in the Indian Embassy, Tokyo; Controller of Capital Issues, Ministry of Finance; Finance Secretary, Government of India. He was the executive director for India and four other countries and Board Member for the Asian Development Bank, Manila until July 2004.


Mr. Ashok K. Basu

Mr. Basu was First Class First with Honours in Economics and Political Science in the BA (Honours) Examination, University of Calcutta in 1962. He joined the Indian Administrative Service in 1965 Mr. Basu is a former Secretary to the Government of India, Ministry of Steel, Secretary - Power and Chairman of the CERC.

Mr. Basu is also on the Boards of other Tata companies viz. Maithon Power Limited, Tata Power Delhi Distribution Limited, Tata Metaliks, DI Pipes Limited, Tata Metaliks Limited and The Tinplate Company of India Limited and was also Member (Industry and Infrastructure) of the West Bengal State Planning Commission. Mr. Basu was also elected as Chairman, South Asia Forum of Infrastructure Regulators during 2005-2006.


Mr. Pravin H. Kutumbe

Mr. Kutumbe, aged 55, is a Chartered Accountant. He joined LIC in 1985 and worked in LIC Branch & Divisional Offices in the functional areas of F&A, Marketing P&GS and Investment. He headed LIC’s Fiji operations from 1998 to 2002. He is also LIC’s nominee on the Boards of Stock Holding Corporation of India Limited and SHCIL Services Limited.


Ms. Sandhya S. Kudtarkar

Ms. Kudtarkar is a Commerce graduate, Chartered Accountant and Company Secretary and has been with the Tata Group since March 1982. Having held various positions in the Secretarial function with Tata Steel Limited, she was the Company Secretary of Tata Steel from June 1994 till October 2001, when she moved to the Tata Group Legal Department.

She is a director inter alia of Tata International Limited, Panatone Finvest Limited, TS Investments Limited, a subsidiary of Tata Sons Ltd. She is an ex-member of the Legal Affairs Committee of the Bombay Chamber of Commerce & Industry.


Mr. Anil Sardana

An Electrical Engineer from Delhi College of Engineering and a Post Graduate Diploma in Management, Mr. Sardana brings with him over three decades of experience in the power & infrastructure sector and has worked with companies like NTPC Limited, BSES (prior to it becoming an ADAG group company), Tata Power Delhi Distribution (erstwhile NDPL). Mr. Sardana also served as the Executive Director (Business Development & Strategy) for Tata Power from 1stMarch 2007 to 3rdAugust 2007 and continued to be on its Board till 1stJuly 2008. Mr. Sardana was the Managing Director of Tata Teleservices Limited for over 3 years from 2007 to 2011.


Mr. Ashok S. Sethi

Mr. Ashok S. Sethi, is a B.Tech from IIT, Kharagpur. He was Chief - Corporate Operations Management and is also an Executive Director of Maithon Power Limited, a subsidiary of the Company.He has wide experience in power sector ranging from Thermal & Hydro Generation, Transmission & Distribution, Commercial & Regulatory and also Advocacy. He has been with the company for the last 38 years and has deep understanding and commitment to the business and stakeholders.


Disclaimer | Privacy Policy      Website optimised for Internet Explorer 6.0 with 1024 x 768 screen resolution | © Tata Power