Dark mode

Businesses - Conventional Generation


Hydropower energy is primarily used to produce electricity. Hydroelectric power plants are created around dams, rivers and turbines whereby the water from these sources create reservoirs where the water is stored for future use. This water when released activates generators and creates electric power or electricity.

Tata Power's hydro plants in India are located at:

Bhira, Bhivpuri, & Khopoli in Maharashtra

The Company has an installed hydro capacity of 693 MW, of which 65% is generated for the domestic market. Pioneering the concept of cheap, clean and pollution free energy, our hydro stations are used to primarily supply power for the associated industrial areas including Bhira.

Tata Power and Norway-based SN Power entered into an exclusive partnership to develop hydro power projects in India and Nepal.

Tata Power has a JV with the Royal Government of Bhutan under which it has commissioned a 126 MW Dagachhu Hydro Project with Druk Green Power Company in March 2015.

The company has synchronised of 186 MW Shuakhevi Hydro Project in Georgia. The company has commissioned two units of 60 MW each of its 120 MW Itezhi Tezhi hydro Power Project in Zambia, in which Tata Power has a 50 percent stake.

Did you know?

Tata Power had set up India's first hydroelectric power generating station, in 1915, of 40 MW commissioned at Khopoli, which was subsequently upgraded to 72 MW.

Plants and Projects

© Copyright 2022 Tata Power. All Rights Reserved.